The Four Quadrants of Public Relations

Within these four quadrants: Media, Community, Government, and Business, all functions of Public Relations fall. As practitioners we must be well versed in each quadrant.

Within these four quadrants all functions of public relations fall. To be well versed in each quadrant, while also understanding each individual element, is critical to the development of today’s public relations practitioners.


The four quadrants of public relations include:

  1. media – inclusive of publicity, as well as traditional and social press
  2. community – inclusive of internal, external, online, employee, consumer and personal interactions,
  3. business – inclusive of investor relations, C-level executive advisement, and social care (customer service), and
  4. government – inclusive of political, lobbying, public affairs and issues management.

PR practitioners should think of these as completely interrelated and strive to incorporate aspects of all four quadrants into their daily activities to develop a higher level of strategic implementation.


  One thought on “The Four Quadrants of Public Relations

  1. August 19, 2017 at 9:19 am

    I’ve remember the days when I first learned the 4 quadrants of PR. Thank you for writing this. You’ve really earned my deepest respect. I have shared this with my friends because it deserves to be seen. You’re truly an awesome writer.


    • September 14, 2017 at 5:21 pm

      Thank you, I appreciate your heartfelt comment.

Leave a Reply to Gina Luttrell Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: