The Four Quadrants of Public Relations

Within these four quadrants: Media, Community, Government, and Business, all functions of Public Relations fall. As practitioners we must be well versed in each quadrant.

Within these four quadrants all functions of public relations fall. To be well versed in each quadrant, while also understanding each individual element, is critical to the development of today’s public relations practitioners.


The four quadrants of public relations include:

  1. media – inclusive of publicity, as well as traditional and social press
  2. community – inclusive of internal, external, online, employee, consumer and personal interactions,
  3. business – inclusive of investor relations, C-level executive advisement, and social care (customer service), and
  4. government – inclusive of political, lobbying, public affairs and issues management.

PR practitioners should think of these as completely interrelated and strive to incorporate aspects of all four quadrants into their daily activities to develop a higher level of strategic implementation.


There are 2 comments

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s